Skip to content
2 min read

Pickleball Rules to Know – What Is a Distraction?

News Stacie Townsend 07-11-2020

Have you ever been distracted by another pickleball player on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.J of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball states that a pickleball player may not distract an opponent when the opposing team is about to play the pickleball. If a pickleball player does distract an opponent, then that player would have committed a fault. A distraction is based on the referee’s judgment, as a referee in competitive play will determine if the distraction resulted in the loss of a rally by the opposing team.

With that said, team communication does NOT constitute a distraction. That means that, if a pickleball player communicates to his or her partner as the opposing team plays or is about to play the pickleball, then no distraction (and no fault) would have occurred.

Has another pickleball player ever tried to distract you on the pickleball court? Does the other team’s communication ever bother you on the pickleball court? Share with us in the comments below!

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

01-23-23

Stacie Townsend

Why You Should Learn to Slice Your Pickleball Return

The goal of the return of serve in pickleball is to make your opponents’ third shot as difficult as possible. Learn one...

11-01-20

Stacie Townsend

Free Copy of The Pickleball Mental Edge at www.thePickler.com!

Have you ever felt as if you lost a point or game on the pickleball court because of your mental game, rather than your physical...

2 min read

05-15-23

Stacie Townsend

How to Avoid Getting “Body Bagged” in Pickleball

No player likes to get hit with the pickleball—in other words, getting “tagged” or “body bagged” as some players...

6 min read