Skip to content
2 min read

Pickleball Rules to Know – What Is a Distraction?

News Stacie Townsend 07-11-2020

Have you ever been distracted by another pickleball player on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.J of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball states that a pickleball player may not distract an opponent when the opposing team is about to play the pickleball. If a pickleball player does distract an opponent, then that player would have committed a fault. A distraction is based on the referee’s judgment, as a referee in competitive play will determine if the distraction resulted in the loss of a rally by the opposing team.

With that said, team communication does NOT constitute a distraction. That means that, if a pickleball player communicates to his or her partner as the opposing team plays or is about to play the pickleball, then no distraction (and no fault) would have occurred.

Has another pickleball player ever tried to distract you on the pickleball court? Does the other team’s communication ever bother you on the pickleball court? Share with us in the comments below!

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

08-22-22

Stacie Townsend

Pickler The Newsroom: Latest News & Headlines in Pickleball - August 8, 2022 to August 22, 2022

Serving up the latest pickleball news and headlines! Pickler The Newsroom is back and covering the highlights from August...

4 min read

06-06-20

Stacie Townsend

Grab Great Discounts and Benefits with Exclusive USAPA Membership Offer!

Help support the growth of pickleball by joining the USAPA, plus help your wallet with some great discounts and offers from...

2 min read

11-25-17

Stacie Townsend

The Pickler I Met: Anna Leigh Waters - The Future of Pickleball

By now, I hope you have had a chance to read Our Story here at Pickler, which features the first Pickler I met, 90-year-old...

3 min read