Skip to content
2 min read

Timely Call Time-Outs

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 07-24-2023

Check out the point below during a pro mixed doubles match at the PPA Denver Open, where the #30 seed Martin Emmrich—Tina Pisnik lost a point to the #3 seed Matt Wright—Lucy Kovalova at a critical moment in the match due to a poorly timed time-out.

Emmrich seemingly called time-out ⏱ after Kovalova made contact with the serve. According to the official rules of pickleball, if the receiver or his or her partner calls a time-out after the serve has occurred, then the receiving team commits a fault and loses the rally. So, since Emmrich called the time-out after Kovalova made contact on the serve, he committed a fault and lost the rally. (To note, the referee noted that Emmrich did not call time-out before she called the score (which may have been mis-phrased). According to the rules of pickleball, the point in time that is relevant is contact on the serve.)

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

06-27-24

Stacie Townsend

Out Too Late

2 min read

03-20-25

Stacie Townsend

Can My Partner Call the Score?

Can the server’s partner announce the score? What about their opponents? Learn what the Rulebook has to say about this...

2 min read

06-27-22

Stacie Townsend

Whose Call Is It Anyway?

2 min read