Skip to content
2 min read

Fault Or Whiff?

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 05-02-2022

Imagine that you take a big swing at high-sitting pickleball when you are standing at the Kitchen line. You completely miss the pickleball and then drop your paddle into the Kitchen. Your partner is able to get the pickleball back over the net. What is the call? Did you commit a Kitchen fault when you dropped your paddle into the Kitchen?

This situation happened on the courts and caused a bit of a debate amongst players, which we are here to settle.

If you determined that you did not commit a fault when you dropped your paddle into the Kitchen, then you would be correct. Why? Because you did not make contact with the Kitchen during the act of a volley because, well, there was no volley. There was no strike of the pickleball out of the air, as you swung and missed. So, no volley and no Kitchen violation. ‍

For a deeper breakdown on all of the rules of pickleball, check out Pickler’s Ultimate Guide to the Rules of Pickleball.

Have you had an interesting rules issue on the pickleball court? Send it to us at stacie@thepickler.com, so we can share with the rest of the pickleball community in a future newsletter.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

08-22-22

Stacie Townsend

Will The Spin Serve Stay Or Go?

2 min read

03-07-22

Stacie Townsend

Your Paddle Head Matters

2 min read

08-09-21

Stacie Townsend

Body Part, Play On?

3 min read