Skip to content
3 min read

Temporary Nets

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 10-03-2022

More and more dedicated pickleball courts are being developed every day. However, these dedicated courts are not being developed in a manner that is fast enough to keep up with the demand to play. As a result, many players play using a temporary net.

Given the popularity of temporary nets, pickleball has special rules just for temporary nets. These are important because there are certain circumstances that result in a replay of the rally, which include the following:

  • If the pickleball travels over the net and then either (a) hits the horizontal bar or center base (before or after the bounce), or (b) gets stuck between the net and the horizontal bar (before or after the bounce), then it is a let and the point will be replayed.

    • However, this rule does not apply on the serve (this would instead be a fault on the serve).
    • Also, to note, this only applies if the pickleball travels over the net and then hits or gets stuck on the horizontal bar. If the pickleball hits the horizontal bar before traveling over the net, then the player that last hit the pickleball would have committed a fault.
  • Any malfunction of the temporary net during a rally will be a hinder and the players will replay the point.
  • However, this rule does not apply on the serve (this would instead be a fault on the serve).
  • Also, to note, this only applies if the pickleball travels over the net and then hits or gets stuck on the horizontal bar. If the pickleball hits the horizontal bar before traveling over the net, then the player that last hit the pickleball would have committed a fault.

For a deeper breakdown on all of the rules of pickleball, check out Pickler’s Ultimate Guide to the Rules of Pickleball.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

07-24-23

Stacie Townsend

Timely Call Time-Outs

2 min read

01-03-24

Stacie Townsend

Nothing But Net

1 min read

09-19-22

Stacie Townsend

Hats Off

1 min read