Skip to content
1 min read

Paddle Break!

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 03-20-2023

Rarely does a pickleball paddle break after hitting a routine volley at the Kitchen line. However, that is exactly what happened to Riley Newman when playing with his partner Parris Todd against the brother-sister duo, JW and Jorja Johnson, in the video below. What rule does this paddle break violate?

Newman’s paddle break violates one of the cornerstone rules of the sport—it is a Kitchen violation! According to the rules, “[i]f the paddle touches the non-volley zone during the volley motion, before or after contacting the ball, it is a fault.” By no fault of his own, Newman’s paddle made contact with the Kitchen after his volley motion. As a result, he committed a fault and loses the rally. Watch your paddle heads out there…

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

08-21-23

Stacie Townsend

Permanent Or Not?

2 min read

05-30-22

Stacie Townsend

Indent To Replay

3 min read

03-07-22

Stacie Townsend

Your Paddle Head Matters

2 min read