In a mixed doubles match between Jack Sock—Anna Leigh Waters and Jake Kudsmider—Jillian Braverman, Sock hits a sharp fourth shot near the sideline. Braverman returns the shot, as Kudsmider slowly reacts to call the pickleball out of bounds. The referee quickly rejected Kudsmider’s call and calls “side out.” Why was Kudsmider’s out call not honored in the video below?
According to the rules, “all ‘out’ calls must be made ‘promptly.’” Further, “promptly” is defined as a specific point in time, which is “prior to the ball being hit by the opponent or before the ball becomes dead.” In the point shown above, Kudsmider made the call after the ball was hit by his opponent, Anna Leigh Waters. As a result, his call was not “prompt” and the ball would be presumed in.
Be sure to make your line calls promptly! ⏰