Skip to content
1 min read

Q&A – Dropped Paddle

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 10-18-2024

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

QUESTION: While my partner was in the middle of a volley, I dropped my paddle into the NVZ. Opponents stopped play, calling it a fault. I disagreed. Who is right?

ANSWER: You are, as long as you were not touching your partner while they were hitting the volley. This is no different than standing in the NVZ while your partner is hitting the volley. Dropping your paddle in the NVZ is a fault if you were the player hitting the volley. If this was an officiated match, a referee might be able to make a case for a distraction fault on you if they thought you dropped your paddle on purpose. Yes, it’s been done before. 🙂

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

10-18-21

Mark Peifer

Broken Ball, What Now?

3 min read

07-17-25

Mark Peifer

Paddle in the Kitchen: the Non-Volley Zone Volley Rule

Is touching the Kitchen with your paddle during a volley legal or a fault? Learn what the rules have to say about your paddle...

2 min read

07-11-24

Mark Peifer

Q&A - Net Malfunction

2 min read