Skip to content
2 min read

Pickleball Rules to Know – Double Hit, Double Trouble?

News Stacie Townsend 05-16-2020

Have you ever hit a pickleball twice with your paddle during an on-court rally? If so, what was the ruling on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.A of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball provides that double hits are legal on the pickleball courts, but only under certain circumstances. To be a legal double hit, the hit must be (1) unintentional, (2) continuous, (3) a single-direction stroke, and (4) by one player. If the double hit does not meet any of these four criteria (i.e. the double hit is intentional, not continuous, a multiple directions, or struck by more than one player), then the double hit will result in a fault and the player striking the pickleball will lose the rally.

Have you ever hit a winner off of a legal double hit? Have you ever won a rally off of an illegal double hit (i.e. a fault) by your opponents? Share with us in the comments below!

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

05-12-18

Stacie Townsend

What Is Your Pickleball Elevator Pitch?

Although pickleball is the fastest growing sport in the world, I come across more people that have not heard of our great...

2 min read

11-28-22

Stacie Townsend

How to Defend Against the Erne on the Pickleball Court

How do you defend against a pickleball shot called the "Erne," or otherwise prevent the Erne from being used against you?...

6 min read

02-18-20

Stacie Townsend

Live Longer. Play Pickleball.

Recent research shows that if you play pickleball, you will likely live longer! Encourage your loved ones to play pickleball...

1 min read