Skip to content
2 min read

Pickleball Rules to Know – Double Hit, Double Trouble?

News Stacie Townsend 05-16-2020

Have you ever hit a pickleball twice with your paddle during an on-court rally? If so, what was the ruling on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.A of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball provides that double hits are legal on the pickleball courts, but only under certain circumstances. To be a legal double hit, the hit must be (1) unintentional, (2) continuous, (3) a single-direction stroke, and (4) by one player. If the double hit does not meet any of these four criteria (i.e. the double hit is intentional, not continuous, a multiple directions, or struck by more than one player), then the double hit will result in a fault and the player striking the pickleball will lose the rally.

Have you ever hit a winner off of a legal double hit? Have you ever won a rally off of an illegal double hit (i.e. a fault) by your opponents? Share with us in the comments below!

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

03-06-20

Stacie Townsend

Why Play Pickleball?

Pickleball is the fastest growing sport in the country for good reason. If you are deciding whether or not to try pickleball,...

3 min read

03-24-20

Stacie Townsend

Pickleball Rules to Know - The Basic Rules of the Serve

There are many nuances to the serve in the sport of Pickleball. These nuances include technique, strategy, and the rules...

12-12-23

Stacie Townsend

First “Quiet” Pickleball Paddle Hits the Market

3 min read