Skip to content
1 min read

Paddle Break!

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 03-20-2023

Rarely does a pickleball paddle break after hitting a routine volley at the Kitchen line. However, that is exactly what happened to Riley Newman when playing with his partner Parris Todd against the brother-sister duo, JW and Jorja Johnson, in the video below. What rule does this paddle break violate?

Newman’s paddle break violates one of the cornerstone rules of the sport—it is a Kitchen violation! According to the rules, “[i]f the paddle touches the non-volley zone during the volley motion, before or after contacting the ball, it is a fault.” By no fault of his own, Newman’s paddle made contact with the Kitchen after his volley motion. As a result, he committed a fault and loses the rally. Watch your paddle heads out there…

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

11-01-21

Stacie Townsend

Net... Can'T Touch That!

2 min read

05-29-24

Stacie Townsend

Q&A - Foot Faults and Fairness

5 min read

05-01-23

Stacie Townsend

Who Makes The Call?

2 min read