Skip to content
1 min read

Hats Off

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 09-19-2022

A pickleball clipped the net and rolled over to the opposite side of the Kitchen in a recent pro mixed doubles match between Anna Bright-Dylan Frazier and Sarah Ansboury-Rafa Hewett. Hewett used his quick feet to get to the pickleball in time. However, as shown in the video below, as he was striking the pickleball, Hewett’s hat nicked the net. What’s the call?

Fault! Hewett lost the rally as soon as his hat touched the net. Remember, if you touch the pickleball net, net posts, or net system, while the pickleball is “live,” then you commit a fault and you will lose the rally. So, avoid making contact with the net, and keep your hat brims short.

For a deeper breakdown on all of the rules of pickleball, check out Pickler’s Ultimate Guide to the Rules of Pickleball.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

08-22-22

Stacie Townsend

Will The Spin Serve Stay Or Go?

2 min read

02-28-24

Stacie Townsend

Q&A - Is My Serve Illegal?

4 min read

05-02-22

Stacie Townsend

Fault Or Whiff?

2 min read