Skip to content
2 min read

Double Hits Count!

Rules Refresh Stacie Townsend 11-29-2021

Have you ever accidentally hit the pickleball twice in one motion before? Did you know that this could be a legal shot?

Double hits are legal on the pickleball courts, but only under certain circumstances. To be a legal double hit, the hit must be (1) unintentional, (2) continuous, (3) a single-direction stroke, and (4) by just one player. If the double hit does not meet any of these four criteria (i.e. the double hit is intentional, not continuous, in multiple directions, or struck by more than one player), then the double hit will result in a fault and the player hitting the pickleball will lose the rally. Double hits are also permitted on the serve.

For a deeper breakdown on all of the rules of pickleball, check out Pickler’s Ultimate Guide to the Rules of Pickleball.

Have you had an interesting rules issue on the pickleball court? Send it to us at stacie@thepickler.com, so we can share with the rest of the pickleball community in a future newsletter.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

05-02-22

Stacie Townsend

Fault Or Whiff?

2 min read

04-30-24

Stacie Townsend

Q&A - On the Line

4 min read

08-23-21

Stacie Townsend

Crossing The Plane

2 min read