Learn to Play & Love Pickleball

Pickleball Rules to Know - What Is a Distraction?

by Stacie Townsend

Pickleball Rules to Know - What Is a Distraction? | Pickler Pickleball

Have you ever been distracted by another pickleball player on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.J of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball states that a pickleball player may not distract an opponent when the opposing team is about to play the pickleball. If a pickleball player does distract an opponent, then that player would have committed a fault. A distraction is based on the referee's judgment, as a referee in competitive play will determine if the distraction resulted in the loss of a rally by the opposing team.

With that said, team communication does NOT constitute a distraction. That means that, if a pickleball player communicates to his or her partner as the opposing team plays or is about to play the pickleball, then no distraction (and no fault) would have occurred.

Has another pickleball player ever tried to distract you on the pickleball court? Does the other team's communication ever bother you on the pickleball court? Share with us in the comments below!




Stacie Townsend
Stacie Townsend

Author



Leave a comment


Also in Pickleball Blog

Pickleball Rules to Know - Crossing the Plane of the Pickleball Net | Pickler Pickleball
Pickleball Rules to Know - Crossing the Plane of the Pickleball Net

by Stacie Townsend 5 Comments

Did you know that you can only cross the plane of the pickleball net in limited circumstances? Learn more now!

Read More

CPR Saves Fallen Pickleball Player | Pickler Pickleball
CPR Saves Fallen Pickleball Player

by Stacie Townsend 43 Comments

Emergencies can happen anywhere, including, unfortunately, on a pickleball court. Learn how the quick action of one pickleball player saved another fallen Pickler!

Read More

Pickler Pickleball | 150 Minutes
150 Minutes

by Stacie Townsend 21 Comments

Are you getting your 150 minutes? Learn more now!

Read More