Have you ever been distracted by another pickleball player on the pickleball court?
Rule 11.J of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball states that a pickleball player may not distract an opponent when the opposing team is about to play the pickleball. If a pickleball player does distract an opponent, then that player would have committed a fault. A distraction is based on the referee's judgment, as a referee in competitive play will determine if the distraction resulted in the loss of a rally by the opposing team.
With that said, team communication does NOT constitute a distraction. That means that, if a pickleball player communicates to his or her partner as the opposing team plays or is about to play the pickleball, then no distraction (and no fault) would have occurred.
Has another pickleball player ever tried to distract you on the pickleball court? Does the other team's communication ever bother you on the pickleball court? Share with us in the comments below!
Comments will be approved before showing up.