Learn to Play & Love Pickleball

Pickleball Rules to Know - Paddle Here, Paddle There

by Stacie Townsend

Pickleball Rules to Know - Paddle Here, Paddle There | Pickler Pickleball

There are a few basic pickleball rules to know when it comes to pickleball paddles in your hands on the pickleball court. Section 11 of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball 

  • You may switch your pickleball paddle between hands at any time on the pickleball court (Rule 11.B).
  • You may hit the pickleball with two-hands on your paddle (Rule 11.C).
  • You may only use one pickleball paddle while playing pickleball (Rule 11.O). 
  • You must have possession of your pickleball paddle when you make contact with the pickleball (Rule 11.P).

Do you switch hands or use two hands on the pickleball court? If so, did you know that you are following the rules? Have you ever thought of tossing your pickleball paddle out of your hands and into the air in order to hit the pickleball? If so, did you know that you are violating the rules? Share with us in the comments below!




Stacie Townsend
Stacie Townsend

Author



Leave a comment


Also in Pickleball Blog

Pickleball Rules to Know - Pickleball Apparel Rules | Pickler Pickleball
Pickleball Rules to Know - Pickleball Apparel Rules

by Stacie Townsend 3 Comments

Have you ever been asked to change your outfit while on the pickleball court? For instance, if you were wearing a yellow shirt that matched the color of the pickleball? Learn the official pickleball ruling on apparel now!

Read More

Is Pickleball the Perfect Fundraising Activity? | Pickler Pickleball
Is Pickleball the Perfect Fundraising Activity?

by Stacie Townsend 1 Comment

Could pickleball be the perfect fundraising activity?

Read More

Pickleball Rules to Know - Jumping In the Kitchen | Pickler Pickleball
Pickleball Rules to Know - Jumping In the Kitchen

by Stacie Townsend

Have you ever seen a pickleball player stand in the Non-Volley Zone (also known as the Kitchen), jump to hit the pickleball out of the air, and then land either inside or outside of the Kitchen? Then, the jumping pickleball player tries to argue that he/she did not commit a Non-Volley-Zone fault because he/she hit the pickleball while jumping in the air above the Non-Volley Zone? What's the proper ruling on the pickleball courts?

Read More