Have you ever hit a pickleball twice with your paddle during an on-court rally? If so, what was the ruling on the pickleball court?
Rule 11.A of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball provides that double hits are legal on the pickleball courts, but only under certain circumstances. To be a legal double hit, the hit must be (1) unintentional, (2) continuous, (3) a single-direction stroke, and (4) by one player. If the double hit does not meet any of these four criteria (i.e. the double hit is intentional, not continuous, a multiple directions, or struck by more than one player), then the double hit will result in a fault and the player striking the pickleball will lose the rally.
Have you ever hit a winner off of a legal double hit? Have you ever won a rally off of an illegal double hit (i.e. a fault) by your opponents? Share with us in the comments below!
Comments will be approved before showing up.
Since returning to professional pickleball this year, after taking a long COVID hiatus, Leigh and Anna Leigh Waters have been traveling the country for pickleball tournaments. But, one thing that that they have not done in a really long time is take a family vacation... until now. Learn about Team Waters' trip to Costa Rica from Leigh herself, which included as much, or more, pickleball than at home in Florida, monkey spectators, family bonding, surfing, and a lot of new friends made on the Costa Rican pickleball courts, which reminded them how much fun the great sport of pickleball really is.