Skip to content
2 min read

Pickleball Rules to Know – Double Hit, Double Trouble?

News Stacie Townsend 05-16-2020

Have you ever hit a pickleball twice with your paddle during an on-court rally? If so, what was the ruling on the pickleball court?

Rule 11.A of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball provides that double hits are legal on the pickleball courts, but only under certain circumstances. To be a legal double hit, the hit must be (1) unintentional, (2) continuous, (3) a single-direction stroke, and (4) by one player. If the double hit does not meet any of these four criteria (i.e. the double hit is intentional, not continuous, a multiple directions, or struck by more than one player), then the double hit will result in a fault and the player striking the pickleball will lose the rally.

Have you ever hit a winner off of a legal double hit? Have you ever won a rally off of an illegal double hit (i.e. a fault) by your opponents? Share with us in the comments below!

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

01-17-24

Stacie Townsend

Kitchen Talk: Pickleball Edition - The Visionaries Behind The Biggest Pickleball Party In The World™

3 min read

03-11-20

Stacie Townsend

Pickleball Court Near Me?

Find a pickleball court near you!

1 min read

06-08-20

Stacie Townsend

What Is a "Nasty Nelson"?

Have you heard of the phrase "Nasty Nelson" on the pickleball courts? If not, a "Nasty Nelson" is certainly a shot to learn...

2 min read