Skip to content
2 min read

Paddle in the Kitchen: the Non-Volley Zone Volley Rule

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 07-17-2025

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

Question: I’ve noticed in both rec play and tournaments that some players touch their paddle to the Non-Volley Zone while volleying a low dink, sometimes even smacking the ground with an audible ‘thwack.’ It’s rarely called a fault. Is this actually allowed, or should it be called?

Answer: Under the 2025 USA Pickleball Rulebook, this situation is now governed by a revised definition of the act of volleying—specifically Rule 9.B.1. The key change is this:

The act of volleying now begins at the moment the ball is struck.

This means a player may have their paddle already in the Non-Volley Zone (NVZ)—even touching the ground—so long as it occurs before the ball is struck. This is no longer a fault.

However, if the player hits the volley first and then their paddle (or any part of their body or clothing) contacts the NVZ, that remains a fault, just as in previous years.

So while the loud “thwack” may look or sound questionable, if the paddle was already in the NVZ before the volley, no fault should be called under the current rules.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

02-06-25

Mark Peifer

What is a Distraction & How to Handle One on the Pickleball Court

Have you ever felt distracted by your opponent’s behavior on the pickleball court? Discover what the pickleball Rulebook...

4 min read

08-22-24

Mark Peifer

Q&A - Non-Volley Zone Momentum

2 min read

09-05-22

Mark Peifer

Ask The Referee

2 min read