Skip to content
2 min read

Q&A – Net Malfunction

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 07-11-2024

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

QUESTION: I hit a soft dink that contacted the top of the net and then rolled down the net. The net had a slight bow because the wind made it billow. The ball’s path down to the ground was impacted ever so slightly, so my opponent called for a replay. I’ve never heard of that as a replay. Was she correct?

ANSWER: Based on how you described the situation, yes. We often see this situation with temporary nets that are affected by the wind, which causes a billowing or deflection of the net. It can, however, also occur with permanent net systems. It is a replay because the net should not billow or bow to the extent it can impact the ball’s path. That is considered a net malfunction. The applicable rule is 11.L.5.d of the USA Pickleball Official Rulebook.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

09-06-21

Mark Peifer

Was That A Distraction?

3 min read

03-20-25

Mark Peifer

Can My Partner Call the Score?

Can the server’s partner announce the score? What about their opponents? Learn what the Rulebook has to say about this...

2 min read

06-12-24

Mark Peifer

Q&A - Why Can’t I Enforce a "Very Clear" Fault?

5 min read