Skip to content
2 min read

Q&A – Net Malfunction

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 07-11-2024

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

QUESTION: I hit a soft dink that contacted the top of the net and then rolled down the net. The net had a slight bow because the wind made it billow. The ball’s path down to the ground was impacted ever so slightly, so my opponent called for a replay. I’ve never heard of that as a replay. Was she correct?

ANSWER: Based on how you described the situation, yes. We often see this situation with temporary nets that are affected by the wind, which causes a billowing or deflection of the net. It can, however, also occur with permanent net systems. It is a replay because the net should not billow or bow to the extent it can impact the ball’s path. That is considered a net malfunction. The applicable rule is 11.L.5.d of the USA Pickleball Official Rulebook.

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

08-20-25

Mark Peifer

Pickleball Through the Net

Is a pickleball that goes through a damaged net still in play? Find out what the rules say about faulty net equipment, when...

2 min read

03-07-22

Mark Peifer

Your Paddle Head Matters

2 min read

02-06-23

Mark Peifer

A Service Foot Fault?

1 min read