Learn to Play & Love Pickleball

Pickleball Rules to Know - What Constitutes a Receiving Fault

by Stacie Townsend

Pickleball Rules to Know - What Constitutes a Receiving Fault | Pickler Pickleball

Did you know there is more than one way to commit a receiving fault on the pickleball courts?

Rule 4.N of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball provides that the following actions will result in a fault while receiving the serve on the pickleball court:

  • The incorrect player on the receiving team hits the pickleball (to note, this is a common mistake when a double's team is stacking).
  • After the score has been called and the server starts the service motion, the receiving player (or his or her partner) either calls a timeout or asks the referee to confirm the score. In other words, once the score has been called and the server starts the service motion, neither the receiving player (or his or her partner) may call timeout or ask the referee to confirm the score.
  • The receiving player (or his or her partner), intentionally or unintentionally, touches the pickleball, or interferes with the flight of the pickleball, before it bounces. For instance, a receiving fault would occur if the server intentionally serves the pickleball to hit the opposing player near the pickleball net (this move is commonly referred to as a "Nasty Nelson"). Or, the served pickleball sails long and hits the receiving player beyond the baseline before bouncing - this would be a receiving fault, even though the serve would have bounced out of bounds.

Have you ever committed a fault when receiving the pickleball? Were you aware of each of these receiving fault rules? Share with us in the comments below!




Stacie Townsend
Stacie Townsend

Author



Leave a comment


Also in Pickleball Blog

Pickleball Rules to Know - Pickleball Apparel Rules | Pickler Pickleball
Pickleball Rules to Know - Pickleball Apparel Rules

by Stacie Townsend 3 Comments

Have you ever been asked to change your outfit while on the pickleball court? For instance, if you were wearing a yellow shirt that matched the color of the pickleball? Learn the official pickleball ruling on apparel now!

Read More

Is Pickleball the Perfect Fundraising Activity? | Pickler Pickleball
Is Pickleball the Perfect Fundraising Activity?

by Stacie Townsend 1 Comment

Could pickleball be the perfect fundraising activity?

Read More

Pickleball Rules to Know - Jumping In the Kitchen | Pickler Pickleball
Pickleball Rules to Know - Jumping In the Kitchen

by Stacie Townsend

Have you ever seen a pickleball player stand in the Non-Volley Zone (also known as the Kitchen), jump to hit the pickleball out of the air, and then land either inside or outside of the Kitchen? Then, the jumping pickleball player tries to argue that he/she did not commit a Non-Volley-Zone fault because he/she hit the pickleball while jumping in the air above the Non-Volley Zone? What's the proper ruling on the pickleball courts?

Read More