Pickleball. More than a Sport.

Pickleball Rules to Know - Crossing the Plane of the Pickleball Net

by Stacie Townsend 6 Comments

Pickleball Rules to Know - Crossing the Plane of the Pickleball Net | Pickler Pickleball

Did you know that you can only cross the plane of the pickleball net in limited circumstances?

Rule 11.I of the 2020 Official Rulebook for USA Pickleball states that a pickleball player may not cross the plane of the pickleball net (or the imaginary extension line of the pickleball net beyond the net posts) until after that pickleball player has hit the pickleball. This includes anything that the pickleball player is wearing or carrying, such as a pickleball paddle. So, the general rule is that you (or your paddle) may only cross the plane of the pickleball net after you strike the pickleball.

There is one exception to this general rule in that a pickleball player may cross the plane of the pickleball net before striking the pickleball if and only if the pickleball bounces and has enough backspin or wind to cause the pickleball to return to the other side untouched. In this case, the pickleball player may reach across the plane of the net to strike the pickleball. If the pickleball player does not touch the pickleball, however, then the opposing team wins the point. 

In any case (regardless of whether you strike the pickleball before or after you cross the plane of the pickleball net), remember that a pickleball player may not touch the pickleball net, posts, net system, or the opposing team's side of the pickleball court. If a pickleball player does any of these things - touch the net, posts, net system, or opposing side of the court - then a fault has occurred and that pickleball player will lose the rally.

Have you ever seen a fault due to a pickleball player crossing the plane of the pickleball net before striking the pickleball (e.g. on a failed Erne attempt)? Share with us in the comments below!




Stacie Townsend
Stacie Townsend

Author



6 Responses

Pickler
Pickler

December 29, 2020

Yes – You may add weight to your paddle in any location. There are no rules restricting the weight of your paddle.

Terry Johnson
Terry Johnson

December 29, 2020

Can you add any weight to your paddle and if so where

Terry Johnson
Terry Johnson

December 29, 2020

Can you add any weight to your paddle and if so where

Pickler
Pickler

October 11, 2020

Based on our reading of the comments above, we understand that the pickleball (1) bounced on Dave’s side; and (2) had enough spin to ACTUALLY take the pickleball back to his opponents’ side of the court. If this is correct, then this is the exception to the rule described in the blog above, and Dave may cross the plane of the net before striking the pickleball – whether or not Dave is out of bounds. But, Dave may only cross the plane of the net AFTER the pickleball crosses back to his opponent’s side. With that said, if either of our assumptions labeled “(1)” and "(2) above are incorrect, then the exception does not apply and Dave may not cross the plane of the net before striking the pickleball.

Tim Bauer
Tim Bauer

October 11, 2020

In Dave’s comment above, he states that he ran out of bounds, but past the imaginary net line to contact the ball. According to the rule above, he made contact with the opposing team’s side of the net. Does it matter that he is out of bounds? Could you please clarify. Thanks

Dave waldmiller
Dave waldmiller

July 29, 2020

I had an incident the other day where the ball was stroke from my side to the opposing side then returned back to my side into the kitchen and bounced and seemed like it was going to go back to the opposing side. The wind took the ball and seemed like it might be heading out of bounds but I didn’t want to take the chance, it was real close so I ran out of bounds and hit the ball back for a winner but i did contact the ball just after I passed the line of my side of the court . Although I was out of bounds when I struck it. We all kinda looked at each other and came to the understanding that my team should get the volley but not sure what the exact ruling is ?

Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.


Also in Pickleball Blog

Team Waters Takes Pickleball on Vacation in Costa Rica | Pickler Pickleball
Team Waters Takes Pickleball on Vacation in Costa Rica

by Leigh Waters

Since returning to professional pickleball this year, after taking a long COVID hiatus, Leigh and Anna Leigh Waters have been traveling the country for pickleball tournaments. But, one thing that that they have not done in a really long time is take a family vacation... until now. Learn about Team Waters' trip to Costa Rica from Leigh herself, which included as much, or more, pickleball than at home in Florida, monkey spectators, family bonding, surfing, and a lot of new friends made on the Costa Rican pickleball courts, which reminded them how much fun the great sport of pickleball really is. 

Read More

Lessons from the Pickleball Court: Encourage the Kids to Play | Pickler Pickleball
Lessons from the Pickleball Court: Encourage the Kids to Play

by Stacie Townsend

Pickleball is great for kids. Kids are great for pickleball. Learn why pickleball is not just your grandparents' game anymore and why kids should be on the court playing pickleball!

Read More

Why the Middle May Be the Best Pickleball Strategy | Pickler Pickleball
Why the Middle May Be the Best Pickleball Strategy

by Stacie Townsend 1 Comment

Down the middle solves the riddle.” We have all heard this idiom before on the pickleball court. There is a strategy in pickleball to hit shots “down the middle” in doubles pickleball. What is this middle strategy? Why is the middle strategy effective in doubles pickleball? How can you execute the middle strategy? Learn the answers to these questions and whether the middle is the best pickleball strategy.

Read More