Skip to content
1 min read

Q&A – Items on Court

Rules Refresh Mark Peifer 11-15-2024

By Mark Peifer, USA Pickleball Certified Referee; Past Chairman, USA Pickleball Rules Committee

QUESTION: My opponent’s hat blows off as he hits his shot, and it lands on the court but not in the NVZ. A wind gust then blows the hat completely past his baseline. I return the ball but it hits the hat out of bounds. Since the hat is no longer on the court, my opponent calls the ball out. Was that the correct call?

ANSWER:  Yes. The applicable rule is Rule 11.H, “Items on the Court. If any item a player is/was wearing or carrying lands on their end of the court, unless the item lands in the non-volley zone as a result of a volley, the ball remains in play even if it hits the item.”

READ SIMILAR STORIES

View All

06-13-22

Mark Peifer

Master Your Footwork

2 min read

02-06-25

Mark Peifer

What is a Distraction & How to Handle One on the Pickleball Court

Have you ever felt distracted by your opponent’s behavior on the pickleball court? Discover what the pickleball Rulebook...

4 min read

02-14-24

Mark Peifer

Q&A - Bouncing Serve

2 min read